Suggesting Mechanism for Sustainable Management of Biodiversity and Access Benefit-sharing mechanism in the state of Madhya Pradesh


The Madhya Pradesh State Biodiversity Board (MPSBDB), Bhopal has requested the Indian Institute of Forest Management (IIFM) for providing the technical support for development of mechanisms for –i) Certification for ABS Compliance; 2) Levy charges in addition to Access Benefit-sharing (ABS) by BMCs; and 3) Sustainable Forest Management of forest based bio-resources by the Biodiversity Management Committees (also JFMCs). A meeting with the Member Secretary MP State Bio-diversity Board on 25 October 2019 at IIFM and the officials from the MP Forest Department (APCCF-JFM, APCCF-Protection, APCCF & AMD MP MFP Federation) also attended this meeting along with IIFM Director and faculty members. Accordingly, this study has been undertaken by IIFM for the MPSBDB.


The specific objective of study is to provide technical support to the MPSBDB for the following three tasks:

  1. A mechanism for Certification of Compliance to ABS by the Traders and Manufacturers as a means to motivation;
  2. Levy charges, in addition to ABS, under section 41 (3) of the Biological Diversity Act 2002; and
  3. A mechanism for Sustainable Forest Management of the forest-based BMCs (also JFMCs).


The state of Madhya Pradesh is rich in plant diversity, which have high quantum of bonafide use and trade. Issue of management of bio-resources is complex and needs thorough discussions involving experts /academicians /researchers /scientists /industry /policy makers and practitioners’/ certification agencies.

Team Members

Dr Pankaj Srivastava, Director (Team Leader)
Dr Manmohan Yadav, Faculty of Marketing Management (Coordinator)
Dr Pradeep Chaudhry, Faculty of Technical Forestry
Dr Sandeep Tambe, Faculty of Technical Forestry
Dr Suprava Patnaik, Faculty of Ecosystem and Environment Management
Dr Advait Edgaonkar, Faculty of Ecosystem & Environment Management
Dr Ashish David, Faculty of Sociology and Community Development
Dr Manish Mishra, Ecosystem and Environment Management
Dr Dharmendra Dugaya, Centre for SFM & Forest Certification